July 19th E-votional

It has been a while since I have written an e-votional.  To say it has been a busy summer would be an understatement!  We started June with both Bowiefest and the SMA walk.  I then traveled to Louisville for two weeks for my doctoral studies.  At the end of the two weeks, Heather and Hannah flew out and joined me so that we could drive to Illinois for a wedding.  We then drove back to Maryland.  Less than two weeks later, we left a day early and took Hannah to Great Wolf Lodge.  We went from there to Mars Hill, North Carolina for our mission trip.  We are only half way through July and we have several other adventures planned!

Long story short, we have done a lot of driving!  A few times people have asked me how we got there.  They want to know what route we took.  Almost every time I had the same answer, “I don’t know!”  When I go somewhere, especially a long trip, I plug the address into my GPS and goes where it tells me.  I don’t really pay attention to what road I am on or where I am, I just follow the GPS.  I have complete and total faith in my GPS.

I wish I followed Jesus as faithfully as I follow my GPS.  I wish I could have the same faith in Jesus that I have in my GPS.  My GPS tells me to go somewhere and I go.  Jesus calls me to do something and I question, reason, think about it, pray.  If it is something I am excited about, I jump right in.  If it is something I am hesitant about, I look for justifications why I shouldn’t do it.  That isn’t the case with my GPS.  If it tells me to go somewhere, I go with almost no question!  Why is that?

It could be that the GPS is much more tangible.  It might be the it is very clear when the GPS is telling us to go somewhere.  It could be that I can clearly hear the GPS, it might be that the GPS only deals with directions, or it could be any host of things!  It could even be that I don’t have quite as much faith in Jesus as I like to think I do.

Jesus tells us to follow him.  That is what we, as Christians, are supposed to do.  We are supposed to follow in Jesus’ footsteps.  Jesus speaks this command 22 times in the Gospels.  Sometimes we do a better job than others.  Sometimes we follow our GPS more faithfully.  But following Christ is what we should strive to do in all things!

Matthew 9:9 “As Jesus was walking along, he saw a man called Matthew sitting at the tax booth; and he said to him, “Follow me.” And he got up and followed him.”

Leave a comment